Review events

Status
In progress

The 2016 undertaking provides for Queensland Rail to seek to vary a reference tariff where a review event has occured. A review event can include a material change in circumstances, or a proposal from an access seeker, access holder or Queensland Rail, which would require a variation to the reference tariff.

Review event—changes to volume and the reference train service

Queensland Rail submitted a review event application to increase the West Moreton reference tariffs to reflect a reduction in the contracted train paths from New Hope’s New Acland mine and proposed changes to the characteristics of the ‘reference train service’.

We are assessing this application in accordance with schedule D, clause 5 of the 2016 access undertaking. We invited stakeholders to comment and received submissions from Yancoal, New Hope and Aurizon Coal.

Queensland Rail’s application, stakeholder submissions and our stakeholder notice are available for download below.

We are also considering a draft amending undertaking Queensland Rail submitted—it is seeking to change the characteristics of the reference train service.

Queensland Rail submitted an application related to a volume and reference train service review event on 23 September 2019.

Stakeholders were invited to comment on Queensland Rail’s application by Tuesday, 22 October 2019.

We received submissions from Yancoal, New Hope and Aurizon Coal.

Queensland Rail’s application, stakeholder submissions and our stakeholder notice are available below.

Date Action
30 September 2019 We published Queensland Rail’s reference train service DAAU and invited stakeholder submissions
22 October 2019 Stakeholder submissions period closed—three submissions received

Report and papers

Date
Title Document
23 September 2019 Submission QR—Volume and Reference Train Service Review Event September 2019 pdf, 3.99 Mb
Date
Title Document
30 September 2019 Notice QCA—Stakeholder notice pdf, 536.00 Kb
Date
Title Document
22 October 2019 Submission New Hope – Submission pdf, 128.99 Kb
22 October 2019 Submission Yancoal – Submission pdf, 204.21 Kb
22 October 2019 Submission Aurizon Coal—Submission pdf, 698.31 Kb
08 November 2019 Submission Queensland Rail – response to stakeholder comments pdf, 3.70 Mb

Review event—New Hope July 2018

On 19 July 2018, we made a final decision to approve Queensland Rail’s review event application to increase the West Moreton reference tariffs, so that the tariffs reflect a reduction in the number of contracted train paths from New Hope’s New Acland mine.

Queensland Rail submitted a review event application to increase the West Moreton reference tariffs, so that the tariffs reflect a reduction in the number of contracted train paths from New Hope’s New Acland mine.

We assessed the application in accordance with schedule D, clause 5 of the 2016 access undertaking.

Stakeholders were invited to comment on the application. We received one submission.

On 21 June 2018, we made a draft decision to approve Queensland Rail’s review event application. No submissions were received in response to the draft decision.

 

Date Action
9 April 2018 Review event application submitted by Queensland Rail
1 June 2018 Stakeholder submissions due
21 June 2018 Draft decision published
6 July 2018 Stakeholder submissions due
19 July 2018 Final decision published

Report and papers

Date
Title Document
19 July 2018 Final report QCA Final decision on New Hope review event pdf, 1010.19 Kb
Date
Title Document
21 June 2018 Draft report QCA – Draft Decision on New Hope Review Event pdf, 2.25 Mb
Date
Title Document
01 June 2018 Submission New Hope – Submission on Review Event pdf, 455.67 Kb
Date
Title Document
12 June 2018 Submission QR – New Hope Review Event July 2018 Amended Application pdf, 1.01 Mb
17 May 2018 Submission QR – New Hope Review Event July 2018 pdf, 3.61 Mb
Date
Title Document
16 May 2018 Notice QCA Stakeholder Notice – New Hope Review Event pdf, 319.86 Kb