Irrigation Price Review 2020–24

Irrigation Price Review 2020–24

  • Draft report
  • Project information

We published our draft report on 9 September 2019 following extensive consultation with stakeholders and after reviewing all stakeholder submissions. We have also published a short issues paper on Sunwater's supplementary submission on a fixed customer access charge, and Sunwater's supplementary submission on an electricity cost pass through mechanism.

Subject to sufficient stakeholder interest, we plan to hold regional workshops in:

  • Mareeba (20 September)
  • Clare (23 September)
  • Mackay (24 September)
  • Bundaberg (25 September)
  • Pittsworth (25 September)
  • Monto (26 September)
  • Theodore (26 September)
  • Emerald (27 September)
  • Maryborough (8 October)
  • Murgon (9 October)
  • Gatton (10 October)
  • Fernvale (10 October)

A copy of the workshop schedule is available below. If there is sufficient interest, we will hold workshops in other locations. You can register for workshops here.

You can download the draft report and all relevant documents below. We encourage stakeholders to make written submissions to the QCA about issues relevant to the draft report by 4 November 2019. You can make submissions here.

Show more

On 29 October 2018, we received a referral notice from the Treasurer and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships directing us to investigate pricing practices relating to the monopoly business activities of SunWater and Seqwater undertaken for irrigation services. The key objective of the investigation is to recommend irrigation prices for the period 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2024.

On 31 October 2018, we released a notice of investigation to announce the commencement of our investigation and a guidance note to assist stakeholders with their submissions. We also published a targeted consultation paper on apportioning dam safety upgrade costs.

Initial stakeholder submissions identifying issues they thought should be considered as part of this investigation were due by 30 November 2018.

We completed our initial round of regional workshops in February 2019. Stakeholder submissions on the businesses' submissions and dam safety consultation paper were due by 8 March 2019.

All of the relevant documents are available below.

Key dates:

  • September/October 2019: QCA to hold regional workshops
  • 4 November 2019: stakeholder submissions due
  • By 31 January 2020: QCA to provide final report to the government
Show more

Report & Papers

Stakeholder submissions on businesses' submissions and dam safety consultation paper

SunWater's submission

Initial stakeholder submissions